Wednesday, April 04, 2012

As Promised. Here are the Senate conferees to HF 2244, the bill that creates a new legislative-citizen commission to manage the school trust lands located throughout Minnesota. As reported yesterday, the lead Senate conferee is the Senate companion bill chief author Benjamin Kruse (R-Brooklyn Park). Joining Senator Kruse are Senators Tom Bakk (DFL-Cook), John Carlson (R-Bemidji), Gen Olson (R-Minnetrista), and Dave Thompson (R-Lakeville). Conference committee meetings are likely to begin after the Legislature returns from its break on Monday, April 16.

Governor to Veto School Aids Payment Shift Bill. As expected, the Governor Dayton has announced that he will veto HF 2083. As most of you know, HF 2083 would have reduced the state budget reserve by approximately $430 million and use that revenue to set the school aids payment shift at 70%/30%. After the February budget forecast, the aids payment shift percentages are approximately 64%/36%.

Here is a link to the story regarding the Governor's decision to veto the bill. The story also includes a copy of a letter sent by Senator Dave Senjem (the Senate Majority Leader) to Governor Dayton outlining the Legislature's rationale for passing the bill and urging the Governor to sign the bill.

No comments: