Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Legislative Chairs Named:  Both the Minnesota State Senate and State House of Representatives named their committee structure and the chairs of the committees last week; less than two weeks after the election.  There were rumors right after the election that the new majorities were planning on moving quickly in announcing the committee structure and committee chairs for the coming biennium, but this is veritably light speed.

Here are links to the new roster of the standing committees with the chair in the House of Representatives and the Senate:

House of Representatives:  http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hinfo/leginfo/PR_2013_Comm_Names.pdf

Senate:  http://www.jdsupra.com/legalnews/2013-14-minnesota-legislative-committee-14120/  (link to Winthrop and Weinstine P.A. website)

The committees that are of most interest to the education community will be the Senate Education E-12 Funding Division chaired by Senator Chuck Wiger (DFL-Maplewood), the Senate Education Committee chaired by Senator Patricia Torres-Ray (DFL-Minneapolis), the House Education Committee chaired by Representative Paul Marquart (DFL-Dilworth) and the House Education Policy Committee chaired by Representative Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul).  The Senate Tax Committee, which SEE will be following closely will be chaired by Senator Rod Skoe (DFL-Clearbrook).  The House Tax Committee will be chaired by Representative Ann Lenczewski (DFL-Bloomington) with the Property Tax Division chaired by Representative Jim Davnie (DFL-Minneapolis).

No comments: